Visual Memory

I was working on an illustration of N83FA following some other research this afternoon, and happened to cover the GIMP window I was using with my web browser.  Something else clicked in my mind as a result.

Here’s what I saw:

My desktop with the nose of a Carvair poking out from underneath the web browser

My desktop with the nose of a Carvair poking out from underneath the web browser

It was the size of the nose and position of the cockpit. I knew I’d seen it before.

And I had – back in my collection of paperbacks.  It was the cover illustration of Adam Hall’s spy adventure The Tango Briefing (London: Collins, 1973 – my paperback is Fontana, 1975).  The Tango Briefing is one of the “Quiller” series of novels about the eponymous British spy. In this case he must examine a missing British commercial transport aircraft which has just been located in the North African desert.

Cover of The Tango Briefing by Adam Hall

Cover of The Tango Briefing by Adam Hall – Illustration by Chris Foss, from goodreads.com for purpose of illustration / identification.

Adam Hall was another pseudonym of the prolific British author Trevor Dudley-Smith (1920-1995). also known as Elleston Trevor, (author of Flight of the Phoenix).  The paperback cover illustration is the work of British artist and illustrator Chris Foss, who illustrated a number of paperbacks in my collection.  Chris Foss might not have used a Carvair for a reference in this case, but you can see how my mind worked.

Leave a Reply

